Things About Boston Winter That Aren’t the Literal Worst

There are some pretty nasty things in the universe. I’m not going to list them, because we don’t need to be depressed about the state of the world all the time, and I am deeming your reading of this post as Not One of Those Times. That said, I’m assuming it would be pretty challenging to top the list. To be the one single actual worst thing out there.

When moving to Boston, I was led to believe that winter here might be that thing. That one-and-only literal worst thing in the universe.

At this point, I’ve made it through roughly one third of my first Boston winter. To be fair, it’s been a ridiculously mild one so far: the temperature has only dropped into the single digits once, to my knowledge, and it’s snowed as many times. So you could say I’m sort of a Boston-winter expert at this point. Given this vast background of knowledge, I consider myself sufficiently qualified to put forth the following for all of posterity:

 

The List of Things About Boston Winter That Aren’t the Literal Worst (in progress)

  1. Kale = flowers. In most states south of the North Pole, it gets warm enough for things to grow. Like plants and bushes and, oh, I don’t know, actual flowers. Unfortunately, Bostonians don’t have the luxury of experiencing real greenery, so they make do by planting winter vegetables in decorative gardens. This is a little bit sad and ridiculous, but over the summer in Uganda I fell in love with how pretty cabbage are , so I’m not mad about it either.
  2. Solidarity. Everyone hates winter here. It’s a favorite conversation topic.
    Native Bostonian: “Were you here last winter?”
    Me: “Nah bro, I just got here this summer.”
    Native Bostonian: “No way, let me tell you this story about how I couldn’t leave my house for a month and survived solely on melted snow and canned chili.”
    I’ve participated in this exchange at least forty times. Minimum. While these conversations might not be the most intellectually stimulating, it is sort of sweet to see how everyone bands together in their mutual hatred of all things snow-and-ice.
  3. The weather (so far). Trying not to jinx this, seeing as there are still two months of winter left and all, but the weather has really been not all that bad. The one day when it got down to single digits, I pulled a pair of leggings on under my jeans, wrapped up in every scarf I own, and braved the cold. And guess what? I lived. It really wasn’t that awful. It was even a little invigorating. (Just a little, though.) And snow is super pretty. Watching snow twirl and float from the seventh-story windows of my office is a brand new kind of beauty I’d never experienced before.
  4. Hoods. I recognize that these are not Boston-exclusive, by any stretch of the imagination. But I’d never realized how something so practical can also make you feel like a straight up g. Every morning, I pop my hood and strut my stuff through the chilly streets of Boston like I own the place. And it. is. awesome.
  5. Winter clothes in general. I’m a big fan of tights. And layers. And cozy sweaters. And boots. If it keeps you warm, I think it’s pretty. Boston winters last a bit longer than Georgia ones, which means I have extra opportunities to find and flaunt fun cold weather outfits.
  6. Hot soup. And hot coffee. And hot tea. These Bostonians keep drinking their mostly-sugar-and-milk iced lattes (from Dunkin’ Donuts, of course), but I’m standing my ground on the hot-things-are-best team. Nothing is as satisfying and comforting and perfect as a crusty piece of bread dipped in a steaming bowl of soup on a below-freezing day. ❤

This list is unfinished, and I’m not committed to these opinions just yet. Check back with me in May, I’ll let you know if my optimism has survived the season.

2 thoughts on “Things About Boston Winter That Aren’t the Literal Worst

Tell me what you think!

